Certified Management Accountant (CMA USA)

The Certified Management Accountant (CMA) is the highest level of certification in management accounting awarded by the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA) USA.

IMA (Institute of Management Accountants) is the worldwide association of accountants and financial professionals in business. Founded in 1919, IT IS one of the largest and most respected associations focused exclusively on advancing the management accounting profession. IMA committed to empowering our 100,000+ members — and those throughout the rest of the profession to strengthen on-the-job skills, better manage companies, and accelerate careers. We invite our members to discover the myriad possibilities within the profession and build an actionable future in management accounting.

The Certified Management Accountant designation ranks as a fast-growing credential around the world.
CMA status is considered one of the highest forms of professional certification in the corporate accounting world.

Yet, becoming a Certified Management Accountant requires a considerable commitment of time, academic study and real-world experience as a candidate. In order to earn their designation, CMAs must work and complete their training simultaneously.

The Institute of Management Accountants is dedicated to excellence within the management accounting profession. The Certified Management Accountant (CMA) designation was developed in 1972 to provide an objective measure of an individual’s knowledge and competence in the field of management accounting. Only the CMA program recognizes the unique proficiency required for success in this challenging profession.
The Institute of Certified Management Accountants (ICMA) regularly reviews the content of the Certified Management Accountant (CMA) exam to ensure that current topics are appropriately updated and relevant to business practice. Connectivity of a practical Body of Knowledge to the workplace is important. The CMA exam aligns with the knowledge, skills and abilities that an accountant or finance professional in business uses on the job today – financial planning, analysis, control, and decision support. These skills are critical to the success of finance teams. The CMA program has been designed to meet the evolving needs of business – today and tomorrow. We look forward to helping you achieve excellence as a professional. Certification will confirm your proficiency in your chosen field and your dedication to personal and professional growth.
The CMA is a globally recognized certification program for management accountants and financial professionals. The two-part exam covers 11 critical practice areas, including financial planning, analysis, control, and decision support. Testing windows are offered in January/February, May/June, and September/October.

Each exam part will consist of 100 multiple choice questions and two 30-minute essay questions.

You will have 3 hours to complete the multiple choice section and one hour to complete the essays. The essays will be presented after you have completed the multiple choice section of the exam or after 3 hours, whichever comes first. Once you complete and exit the multiple choice section of the exam, you cannot go back. You must remain in the essay section to complete the exam. The essay section consists of 8-10 written response or calculation questions based on two scenarios, describing a typical business situation.

Note: You must answer at least 50% of the multiple-choice questions correctly to be eligible to take the essay section.


Job Roles

  • Chief Finance officer
  • Finance Managers
  • Strategic Cost Manager
  • Portfolio / Fund Manager
  • Treasury Manager
  • Financial Manager
  • Accounts Manager
  • Investment Manager
  • Payable or Receivable Manager
  • Financial Controller etc.

CMA Examination
Candidates for CMA certification must complete all required examination parts.
Part 1: Financial Reporting, Planning, Performance, and Control (4 hours – 100 multiple choice questions and two 30-minute essay questions).

Part 2: Financial Decision Making (4 hours – 100 multiple-choice questions and two 30-minute essay questions).

For More Information
Curriculum is empty

0 ratings

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star